Kicking Ass With Breakfast

Are you a sweet or savoury kind of breakfast eater?

I have always been a sweet-breakfast kind of person, believing breakfast is almost incomplete without honey accompanying it ;) This should be apparent now by my documented obsession with oats in the form of porridge or muesli/granola.

I’ve never understood the allure behind eggs for breakfast. Yes, they’re awesome in their own right, but they just never say ‘breakfast’ to me. Yet, I still wanted to give them one last chance to prove themselves. I had a vision of starting my day with eggs & black coffee.

SAM_2754

I had the coffee sorted. The five minutes I spend alone contemplating and drinking my coffee in the morning I consider a sacred moment.

So, about the eggs. I decided to served them shakshouka style, on top of a microwave English muffin using chickpea flour (not so grain-free anymore). I could write a whole post about the muffins themselves.

Diced tomatoes (fresh), onion, paprika, tumeric, parsley, a sprinkle of chickpeas and fried egg in the centre (which always reminds me of an inverted Japanese flag when I fry it on the skillet).

Nom nom nom

Nom nom nom

I served on top of my ‘English muffin‘ completely slathered it in Vegemite. This was the key ingredient.

I took a bite and fell into a food coma.

Variety is the spice of life, so I’m so glad I’ve found a new breakfast favourite to add to my mix :D

What’s your current breakfast fixation? What makes you go ‘nom nom nom’?

6 Comments on “Kicking Ass With Breakfast”

  1. I had a very similar breakfast in a restaurant in New York and LOVED it! And I DEFINITELY want to hear more about that English Muffin!!
    I always have eggs for breakfast. Either as an omelette or in my oats – but I guess that is not very new by now :-) Basically, I love sweet breakfasts, but I love to switch it up once in a while and go savory!

    • It’s pretty similar to Arman’s microwave English muffin :) It is unbelievably dense and savoury thanks to the chickpea flour. It can be so thick, it requires little bites ;)

      I’ve seen your omelettes, they’ve managed to change my feelings about eggs almost on their own :D

  2. Cteavin says:

    I love a big breakfast.

    I have a waffle maker, so yeasted waffles are a staple. Other times I go for Indian Pohe (a rice dish) or idli. And of course a traditional Japanese breakfast with fish, rice, cabbage, pickles and miso soup is on my breakfast table at least once a week.

    If I’m in a hurry, smoothie. :-)

    • I confess to never having owned or really seen (in the flesh) a waffle maker, I tend to associate waffles with America :P

      Now that’s one thing I’d love to experience in visiting Asia, the dynamic food culture! Anyone here would find miso soup for brekky weird. I tend to think it would be perfect :)

  3. I used to love breakfast. But now I eat brunch/lunch. I get up early in the AM and work out – I cannot work out on a full stomach and then when my work out is done, I am no longer hungry right away! So no breakfast for me :( PLUS… I cannot eat eggs anymore. Yes, I know, you can eat anything for breakfast – and I have been known to eat chicken and salmon, I just love eggs in the morning. Sad day… But I am surviving! LOL!

    • I’m always a bit peckish after my workout – which I do first thing in the morning, so the timing is perfect ;) But on the weekend, when I do it later, brunch to the rescue :D


Comment here!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 104 other followers