Friday – Finding The Fabulous

Just because the sky looks grey, doesn’t mean it isn’t blue behind the clouds. The sky is always blue, but we just choose to see it as a grey day. It’s merely our perception that has changed.

 This week was a bit rough, so I’ve decided to look for the brighter side of things, and I hope you do too :)

  • My salads this week have taken on epic proportions. Today’s lunch needed a container resembling a small treasure chest, fortunately I didn’t need to dig around a deserted island to find one.

Did you know you can steam chicken? Mind blown.

Did you know you can steam chicken? Mind blown.

  • Last week my progress with eating intuitively was enormous. This week, it did something of a 180. I’m learning from this that sometimes things are going to be ‘one step forward, one step back’, but each step back teaches me how far I’ve come.

Coffee catch-ups on the cards

Coffee catch-ups on the cards

  • I’m taking next week off work, and am determined to relax and enjoy it. The last time I took time off it wasn’t so great. I was in the middle of a lot of food issues, and being home all day only made it worse. This time I will savour and enjoy it.

  • It’s also my birthday next Friday, which is followed by the weekend, followed by a public holiday on the Monday. It’s almost like they scheduled it just for me ;)

  • Dinner with family tonight, coffee with a friend tomorrow. This is also one of the ways I plan to spend next week. When I sat down and thought about what I enjoy doing, what I could say I loved more than anything without hesitation, was spending an hour or so in one of my favourite haunts with a coffee and a book.

 - Rebel Without A Cause  

- Pink Flamingos

… just to name a few.

  • Slowly, I’m finding that talking things out can be better than bottling them up

  • Listen to this to get up and get your feet moving.

  • Making rhubarb & pear crumble can soothe the soul, and your taste buds. So can smothering it in some faux-ice-cream.

SAM_2748

_________________________________________

How was your week? What are your plans? How do you staypositive?

7 Comments on “Friday – Finding The Fabulous”

  1. Charlotte says:

    Mitchell!! Thanks for the note I miss you!! Holy smokes are you surviving the heat down there? hopefully you dont play competitive tennis :) sounds like you have a pretty awesome week coming up what with your week off, birthday and then holiday the following monday- just relax and ENJOY it! i have been working like a dog at my new job but thats ok because i love it, but i really need to find a way for my old blog life to make a comeback- i miss it soo much!

    Hmm maybe with your week off you could, per chance, fly to america and cook that delicious looking pear and rhubarb crumble for me. i would not mind one bit :)

    • Thanks Charlotte – I’m so glad that you’re enjoying your new job, if it makes you happy that is the main thing :D

      If I need a bit of distraction next week, I’ll be on the first plane over ;)

  2. Sorry to hear you had a rough week but I think you have got such a great attitude towards turning it around. I think you’ve made enormous strides with your eating and yes in one week you may take a step back but then remember to look back and see just how far you have come!

    I hope you do relax and enjoy your week off as you deserve it! I also hope you have a fabulous birthday! The long weekend can’t come soon enough in my mind ;)

  3. Mitchell! I’m in Albury…is that next to Geelong? lol, I’m a spastic with direction. Come hang out.

    I think your making huge strides with your perspective on eating and honouring hunger etc- it’s always 2 steps forward, 1 step back- but it is just that- a work in progress. Feel free to shoot an email if you want to vent/discuss more.

    Enjoy this week and be kind to yourself- relax and enjoy it- and not like till Friday!

    Your salad is screaming to be made vietnamese cold chicken salad style- sweet chilli sauce+ soy sauce mixed together with minced garlic and top it with chopped, salted peanuts. Promise it is amazing ;)


Comment here!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 104 other followers