Sayonara – Signing Off

This post has been in the works for a week or two.

I kept putting it off because I thought maybe I was just having a bad day, maybe I was just tired. But I realise that right now, at the moment, I don’t feel like continuing with blogging. It’s not an unhappy decision, I actually feel a little relief that I can let it go and be okay with it.

At this moment in time, I feel like I just need to stop and get my head together. There have been one or two posts lately where I mention having a bad day or a bad week, and honestly a blog where I rattle off what’s bothering me isn’t something I want to write. It doesn’t interest me nor, I’m sure, does it interest many of you.

A few reasons behind why I’m stopping is that I’ve realised a couple things:

  • The comparison trap, which has been spoken about by Arman is a really slippery slope. A few years ago, I ditched Facebook and Twitter because I was constantly comparing myself to people who seemed to be getting promoted, or traveling the world, or starting families. It made me anxious, and since FB/Twitter seemed like just another vortex on the internet where all time went out the window, I decided to give them up. It was a great decision that I rarely regret. When I began blogging, I didn’t really think it was the same thing, but it soon began to develop similarities. I started comparing myself to other bloggers, I was spending all my time on the computer and I was more concerned about my ‘virtual image’ rather than real self.

  • I am a better blog reader than writer – and that is perfectly okay. This is somewhat covered in the previous point. In the beginning my posts were spontaneous and relaxed. Then when I started getting comments, I enjoyed it, but began writing with a ‘reader base’ in mind. To get more comments, I read that you needed to start posting consistently, frequently, enthusiastically – that is when I feel as though things began to change. I would stress if I hadn’t posted in x number of days. I would start thinking ‘what can I write about next’. I would worry that my last past was so many days ago.

  • Food obsession. My history with food/fitness is varied, just last week I thought I had finally figured it all out, how to finally make peace with my body. This week has seen me slide back into familiar anxieties and stress. While my favourite blogs to read are those that share awesome food ideas that I would never have dreamed of, I’ve often felt as though I was fostering an unhealthy obsession with food. I eat meals and think about the next while I’m still eating the current one. I plan and over think a meal so much it turns out to be a disappointment. This has nothing to do with other bloggers – I choose the sites in my feedly, I choose to post about the meal I’ve cooked. But maybe taking a step back from this for a little while might be good.

What I Grateful For Having Learnt:

  • Discovering a new form of fitness. My old exercise habits were impossible to keep up. Blogging taught me about strength training and that exercise is not synonymous with running until your feet bleed. It’s about getting up and moving, doing something that you enjoy.

  • Meeting new people. I was extremely lucky to have the chance to meet Jan and Arman a few months ago, which was something that I would have shied away from in the past. It was a ‘take the plunge’ moment, where I thought, I could make up some lie about my cat being sick or great-aunt’s-nephew dying, or I could actually just do it. I did it, and it was a lot of fun. It taught me that life isn’t about feeling comfortable all the time (within reason).

  • I surprised myself for managing to blog this long. I tried blogging once before, and last two posts. Yes. Two. Writing helped me to be creative, to try new things, that although I may have done ‘simply to write a post about’, I was ultimately glad I did in the end because it was an experience.

  • Intuitive eating. My first foray with IE came in the unexpected source of ‘French Women Don’t Get Fat’ – which, when you get right down to it, is the very basic premise of the book. It made me think for the very first time the food is not the only problem. It spurred me to look for more resources, to investigate this further. Reading the books of Geneen Roth was a revelation. Through reading these books and reading about other bloggers experiences with IE is one of the most valuable resources I have picked up through this medium.

I don’t plan on giving up reading my favourite blogs, they still continue to make me laugh and inspire me.

And so, to anyone who read this blog, commented, contributed, smirked, giggled, raised an eyebrow, or just looked at the pictures of food – thank you. On we go :)

9 Comments on “Sayonara – Signing Off”

  1. This post makes me sad as I think you sell yourself short you are a great blog writer. I totally understand all the reasons behind wanting to give it up and get your head right. Over Christmas taking extra time off and away from food and fitness being all the focus really gave me some perspective and I hope you have the same experience.

    I really hope we can catch up again at some point even if you don’t blog – I am do glad you did take the plunge as I has a lot of fun too.

    Here for you whenever you need please know you can ALWAYS email me.

    • Thanks so much Jan :)

      Just this last week when I’ve been on here less I’ve noticed the difference in being away from the screen less. Don’t get me wrong, I think that blogging can be such a wonderful hobby, but when it begins getting in the way of ‘getting out there’ and living, it can be worth taking a step back and reassessing things. I noticed that I felt much more at ease without the need to photograph every meal/event :P

      We can definitely still catch up, gotta get a paleo fix when I can ;)

  2. Wow, Mitchell- you really should be commended for seeing the fine line between unhealthy and healthy obsession- and how it could be detrimental in your journey to good health!

    While it will be sad not to see your legume consumption or epic book reviews, I understand the reasoning behind it and frankly, see myself taking a small break too- just because I think I too may be slowly crossing that line!

    Feel free to shoot an email anytime, and also you better be up for some epic burgers or Mexican when I’m down in Melbourne next!

    • Thank you so much Arman :)

      Even just a short break might be good to recharge your batteries so to speak, it can just help refresh our perspectives :)

      And I think the question is, when am I not up for an epic burger? ;)

  3. Oh Mitchell!! I saw this post in my feed but put it off untili have a quiet minute to read and comment, since I had the feeling what you are going to say. I am sad to see you go, but I can understamd every single point you explain. Also me had some comaprison issues in the beginning and blogging can definitely put quite some pressure on ourselves.
    I know you will be able to face these anxieties and struggles and kick them for good. You know I know exactly what you’re talking about! So if you ever feel like a chat, never hesitate to drop me an email (lucie.pfaendler@gmx.ch) or stalk me on skype (lucieplus) 😊
    Enjoy your time off and splurge on some good falafel!
    Just so you know – i loved reading your posts, they made me laugh, inspired me to eat burgers and introduced me to some fantastic music and movies! You rock my friend!!

    • Thank you so, so much Lucie! Your story of overcoming food anxieties and diet-hell were inspiring and really lifted me up when I needed to refocus on the positive side of things.

      I hope that one day we can share a burger :D

  4. Tara says:

    Sorry to see you go, Mitchell, but all of your reasons are completely valid and I respect you for admitting the problems. I fully expect you to continue emailing me of course, so I know I will remain up to date with your training and nutrition :)

  5. Heather says:

    Hi there! I’m Heather and I have a quick question about your blog! My email is Lifesabanquet1(at)gmail(dot)com -)


Comment here!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 104 other followers